What Every Confirmed Catholic Should Know

Ten Commandments 

1. I the Lord am your God. You shall not have other gods besides me. 
2. You shall not take the name of your God in vain. 
3. Remember to keep holy the Sabbath day. 
4. Honor your father and mother. 
5. You shall not kill. 
6. You shall not commit adultery. 
7. You shall not steal. 
8. You shall not bear false witness against your neighbor. 
9. You shall not covet your neighbor’s wife. 
10. You shall not covet your neighbor’s goods. 

Precepts of the Church (Duties of a Catholic Christian) 

1.  Attendance at Mass on Sundays and Holy Days of Obligation
2. Confession of serious sins at least once a year
3. Reception of Holy Communion at least once a year during the Easter season
4. Observance of days of fast and abstinence
5. Providing for the needs of the church

Days of Fasting (for adults) and Days of Abstinence (for all those over the age 14)

*Ash Wednesday
*Good Friday
*All Fridays in Lent 

Holy Days of Obligation in the United States

*The Solemnity of Mary, Mother of God: January 1
We honor Mary, Mother of God

*Ascension: Fortieth day after Easter
Jesus ascended into heaven

*Assumption: August 15
Mary was taken into heaven, body and soul

* All Saint’s Day: November 1
We honor all the saints in heaven

*Immaculate Conception: December 8
At first moment of her life, Mary was free from sin

*Christmas: December 25
We celebrate the birth of Jesus

The Seven Sacraments

Reconciliation (Penance)
Anointing of the Sick
Holy Orders 

Corporal Works of Mercy

Feed the Hungry
Give drink to the thirsty
Clothe the naked
Shelter the homeless
Visit the sick
Visit the imprisoned
Bury the dead

Spiritual Works of Mercy

Counsel the doubtful
Instruct the ignorant
Admonish sinners
Comfort the suffering
Forgive all injuries
Bear wrongs patiently
Pray for the living and the dead

The Theological Virtues 

Love (charity)

The Cardinal Virtues


The Beatitudes (Matthew 5:3-10) 

Blessed are the poor in spirit: for theirs is the kingdom of heaven. 
Blessed are the meek: for they shall possess the land. 
Blessed are they who mourn: for they shall be comforted. 
Blessed are they that hunger and thirst after justice: for they shall have their fill. 
Blessed are the merciful: for they shall obtain mercy. 
Blessed are the clean of heart: for they shall see God. 
Blessed are the peacemakers: for they shall be called the children of God. 
Blessed are they that suffer persecution for justice' sake, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.

The Stations of the Cross

1. Jesus is condemned to death
2. Jesus receives the cross
3. The first fall
4. Jesus meets His Mother
5. Simon of Cyrene carries the cross
6. Veronica wipes Jesus' face with her veil
7. The second fall
8. Jesus meets the women of Jerusalem
9. The third fall
10. Jesus is stripped of His garments
11. Jesus is nailed to the cross
12. Jesus dies on the cross
13. Jesus' body removed from the cross
14. Jesus is laid in the tomb 

Fruits of the Holy Spirit


Gifts of the Holy Spirit

Right Judgement
Fear of the Lord

The Mysteries of the Rosary

The Five Joyful Mysteries (said on Mondays & Saturdays)   
The Annunciation
The Visitation
The Birth of Our Lord
The Presentation
The Finding of Our Lord in the Temple 

The Five Luminous Mysteries (said on Thursdays)
The Baptism in the Jordan
The Wedding at Cana
The Proclamation of the Kingdom
The Transfiguration
The Institution of the Eucharist

The Five Sorrowful Mysteries (said on Tuesdays & Fridays)     
The Agony in the Garden
The Scourging at the Pillar
The Crowning with Thorns
The Carrying of the Cross
The Crucifixion and Death of Our Lord 

The Five Glorious Mysteries (said on Sundays & Wednesdays)
The Resurrection
The Ascension
The Descent of the Holy Spirit
The Assumption
The Crowning of Mary


The Hail Mary
The Our Father
The Apostles’ Creed
The Glory Be
Prayer to the Holy Spirit